Desprite Measures – Reviews

This page lists all Amazon reviews at this stage, whatever they say.

But as so far the majority are 5*, there aren’t many negatives in there!

Amazon US

5.0 out of 5 stars An urban fantasy with all the right bells and whistles December 31, 2013

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
  I picked this book up as a bit of light reading and was not disappointed.  Cassie, the main character is not a human, but rather she is a water-elemental, a sprite. (Hence the title.)  The author does a great job of conveying Cassie’s alien-ness, and her lack of human understanding.
While I normally don’t really enjoy first-person point-of-view, I think in this case it is well done, although graphic sex from a first-person pov puts me a little off, but there is not too much of that, and what there is does seem to advance the plot.  Though this is a rather graphic romance, there is a lot of other action, and all the characters are well fleshed out. Unlike most romance novels, the plot moves quite quickly and does not rely on the sex to keep the readers attention.
The plot encompasses a great deal of urban mythology regarding vampires and the fae, modern witchcraft and the old-time selkie legends. The author blends them well and pits them against modern ecological issues, such as sustainable power. There is also the age old conflict of truth and trust, and how sins of omission can mess up a life, which makes for great drama. The magic is quite believable, as are the magical beings.
Liam, the evil magician, is your usual self-centered, amoral, malevolent bad dude, and his machinations drive the action in this tale. Cassie is not the only person who is not what they portray themselves as, and that leaves the door open for a sequel. The ending, while not exactly happy, is satisfactory. It does leave the door open to a sequel, which I will buy.
ChapterHeader (2)
5.0 out of 5 stars Eco-Urban Fantasy Fun February 18, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
  This book was provided by the Author through the PaC Romance group in exchange for an honest review.
When reading a paranormal romance novel I’m looking for a fun, coherent story with likeable, believable (although interspecies) characters first, with any steamy sex scenes as an additional bonus. This book gave me all of this. Our heroine, Cassie, was a water sprite which is a refreshing change from most of the paranormal creatures that roam the romance aisle these days. She was fun, although at times a bit selfish, but that really just made her more believable. She fumbled through her friendships and relationships like someone real as well. I really can’t see why she preferred Gloria over Euan though. Gloria was kind of a bitch while Euan seemed sweet. Anyway, the story was kind of an eco-urban fantasy, if such a thing exists. It was different than other PR novels I’ve read, and I say that in a good way. The sex scenes in the book were steamy and involved both M/F and F/F, so if that type of thing bothers you, look elsewhere. Otherwise, I say this is a well written fun story that any lover of paranormal romance should enjoy. And for being an indie novel, there were very few typos, which is a major plus. I hate it when I’m reading an amazing story, but there’s typos on every page. This books was very much typo free. So, hooray for that! I would definitely have no qualms about recommending this book to friends & anyone who likes PR.
ChapterHeader (2)
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful Urban Fantasy – 5 Stars! December 12, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
There is a sufficiency in the world for man’s need but not for man’s greed. ~Mohandas K. Gandhi
We never know the worth of water till the well is dry. ~Thomas Fuller, Gnomologia, 1732
Desprite Measures. Yes, that really is “Desprite” – it will make sense when you read the book. It is available NOW, and you REALLY need to read this book.I am always positive when I start a new book. It is very much like entering a brand new world. A world of wonder and learning and exploration. Sometimes I am lucky, and the book is everything I hoped it would be. Sometimes – not so very much. In this case I found another of the worlds I very much enjoyed visiting. As anyone who has read my reviews knows, I want to be able to put myself in the place of the characters in the books I enjoy. Books should take you to another world, allowing you to see, hear, and feel what the characters are. And that was quite easy with Desprite, on many levels.
The main character, Cassie, portrays, as odd as it may sound, an evolution of the soul. A Water Sprite, Cassie is a creature of the Earth, a true spirit of the lifeblood of the world, of the lochs and deep waters of the Scottish Highlands. As with all my favorite stories, the secondary characters are nearly as interesting as Cassie. Though presented with fully formed back stories, they still develop throughout the story in ways both fascinating and, in some cases, heartbreaking. She has lived since the beginning of time on Earth, a free spirit of the waters. But now, she has begun to change. . .
There is heartbreak in this book, the heartbreak of what we have done to this beautiful jewel of a world we live upon. The filth that we throw into the water, the land and the air, destroying the beauty all around. Its effects upon the world of the spirit is beautifully drawn and heartrending. How far will the good hearted go to try to correct the issues . . . and how far into the darkness? And how crushing must it be, to watch the world you knew when it was young slowly overwhelmed?
Desprite Measures is most definitely an Urban Fantasy, with all the myriad characters such implies. However, Ms. Jay goes deeper and wider than your everyday UF. She touches on real issues we are all facing today. And she does it in a way that weaves believably into her story. There are good guys and bad guys, and sometimes, the good and bad blend and meld in ways that make you wonder – where do the lines cross?
Relationships, beliefs, environmental and ecological questions. The beginning of this planned five-book series grabbed hold of me and didn’t let me go throughout. Again, first in the series is available NOW, and I can’t recommend it highly enough. If you like UF with a lot of action and adventure, fascinating personal relationships, and quirky characters, this is the beginning of a series with tremendous potential, a bright new star in the firmament of the Urban Fantasy world!
ChapterHeader (2)
Format:Kindle Edition
Desprite Measures is a story about a water elemental, a sprite, named Cassie Lake who’s trying to live in the human world.  The story begins with Cassie being a prisoner to  a magician who also has a salamander – or fire elemental, named Gloria.  Should these two touch, an explosion big enough to wipe Scotland off the map would occur.  Water and fire don’t mix in the world of elemental’s.  Able to escape, Cassie quickly becomes infatuated with Gloria, even knowing that the two of them can never be together.  The magician isn’t through with them yet though.  He has plans to use their force as an endless energy supply for the Earth – despite the consequences.  With witches, vampires, humans, and otherworldly goodness, it’s a unique urban fantasy read that will captivate readers for the sheer originality of the main plot.
Deborah Jay graciously gave me a copy for review, and I’m glad she did.  I enjoyed the unique story line and how the protagonist was a water elemental, a sprite.  Not your average Urban Fantasy.  Ms. Jay weaves a delightful tale, and strings in new ways of creatures taking on human form.  While, over all, I enjoyed the book, there were some details that I found to be tedious.  Cassie’s infatuation with Gloria after only meeting her once, and under duress was quickly portrayed as a bit obsessive and stalker-like.  Through the book this tones down quite a bit, which I was glad to see.  There were a few instances where I felt like things were just added on a whim, and could have been more thought out.  I also felt like the alienation of the protagonist from her friend was a bit forced in areas. Minkie, a Mink that Cassie rescued from the magician, is by far the character I’m most curious about.  It’s clear through reading the story that he’s not an ordinary Mink.  Luckily, the series has only just begun, which means I get to see how these characters grow, develop, and change over time.
This is definitely a four star review.  Other than a few bits (which any reader is always going to have different views on) that irritated me, the story was overall delightful, and I will most definitely be picking up the second one.
 ChapterHeader (2)
3.0 out of 5 stars Good summer paranormal read
on 10 August 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review (LoP or Lovers of Paranormal).
Desprite Measures is the story of Cassie, a water sprite, out living her life among the human population of Scotland. She has a tight circle of friends, a good job, and a boyfriend. One day her life gets turned upside down when a magician kidnaps her and a fire elemental named Gloria as pawns in a nefarious plot.

I would categorize this book as a good summer read. The writing is enjoyable, to the point, and lends itself to a quick read. Cassie is your typical feisty blond who tends to fall in love too easily and for the wrong reasons, which makes her relatable. There are a few steamy sex scenes. Of course, you have the inclusion of the paranormal themes with the elementals, selkies, witches, and vampires floating around. It was an interesting take on a paranormal romance due to the mix of beings. Personally, I wanted more insight into how the other creatures, aside from Cassie, find life among the humans and deal with the nuances that come with their paranormal species. I felt there needed to be more backstory.

ChapterHeader (2)
4.0 out of 5 stars Desprite Measures
 on 04 July 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

What a brilliant fantasy! Jay takes her readers on a remarkable journey. The story is well laid out, allowing the reader to follow along without racing ahead, falling behind, or filling in any blanks. Her descriptions leave you breathless and in awe of the scenery that you can’t help but picture. This is also definitely a novel by an adult for adults. Jay doesn’t dumb or tone down her writing to broaden her audience base. She stays true to her story and herself throughout. She also mixes in some steamy sex scenes, just to kick your pulse up a notch or two. Everything melds seamlessly together into a very enjoyable read.
I quite enjoyed the characters that Jay developed to carry her story forward. They were unique without being abnormally so. This allowed me to get to know them well without feeling a sense of separation from them and what they experienced. That said, the characters were also supernatural, so that gave them an extra, magical kick.
This was definitely a great introduction to this series. It was a unique read that left me satiated at the end.
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
ChapterHeader (2)
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Must Read
on 18 March 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

I love the enthralling tale of Cassie Lake. I CAN’T wait for the next book in this series. It’s filled with many twist turns ups down love loss magic and humanity. Please Read this Amazing book. I highly recommend it..
ChapterHeader (2)

5.0 out of 5 stars very good!!!

on 20 March 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

This fantasy novel was so good! I fell in love with the cover which is why I wanted to read Desprite Measures in the first place and I am so glad that I read it. It was so enjoyable. Definitely a new one for me as I have not seen any books on the Elementals before. I laughed and worried and shhhh I even had a few tears escape without my permission. I absolutely loved Deborah Jay’s novel and so cant wait to read more from her. If you like stories about faeries, you just might like this book. No its not faeries….but its really really good! Definitely give it a read.
I received this book as a gift from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon UK

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Desprite Measures by Deborah Jay is, on the surface, page-turning, light-hearted urban fantasy set in and around Inverness, in Scotland. But like nearby Loch Ness, which looms in the shadowy corners of the tale, the surface of the lake doesn’t always show the depths. In this, the story has the feel of a certain kind of fairy tale or myth.
Cassie Lake is an immortal elemental, a water sprite. She is capable of holding a human appearance, and lives a dual life, human by day and water elemental by night. She has a selkie (Were-seal) lover, friends and a job. A comfortable life, that only exists before page 1 of the book, where we find her trapped by a human magician in a bubble that he is squeezing smaller and smaller. Unfortunately, also trapped in the same bubble is another elemental, the equal and opposite fire sprite. If they touch, ‘bye-bye Scotland’. A grand wee setup. 🙂
We go on from there, stirring a couple of covens, a druid and some familiars into a tale that reveals the magician’s purpose and greed. We get a cameo performance by a vampire, a couple of scenes with what might be a fairy or an elf, and one with what might be a devil, or an angel. Good is sort of triumphant and some massive hooks are left in for the next of what’s apparently planned to be a five part series.
It’s well done, with a light touch, appealing characters, and scenes that made me yell ‘Noooo!!! Cassie, don’t do that’ without making me think she was a twit / TSTL. The world building is light but well constructed and consistent. The villain has an ambiguity during the story, which Jay disassembles at the end. I’m not sure about that, but I certainly didn’t expect it, and I can understand it in light of the moral quandary of the denouement and Cassie’s internal journey.
All of which just makes it another good book. It’s the subtexts that raise it above that.
Appropriately enough for an elemental, a concern with the environment is woven through the book, and provides the structural support for the strong main plot line, but the real twister is Cassie’s journey. Acting human has started to develop Cassie’s soul. As an elemental, she doesn’t expect to have one. Others certainly don’t. And with the soul, of course, comes pain and grief as well as love.
To reveal more would be to give spoilers, and I won’t do that.
In my scoring, it’s normally difficult for book 1 of a series to get a five until I’ve seen book 2. I want to know that the mythic quality blossoms in this series, I want to see that dark underlying fairy tale, even if it means that the series is not a Disney HEA. Fairy tales have a taste of blood and iron, which are lurking beneath the surface in Desprite Measures. I’m looking forward to book 2.
ChapterHeader (2)
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassie, oh Cassie! 9 Dec 2013

By andelusional

Format:Kindle Edition
  Cassie Lake is in deep water. And hot water, and in fact is water or rather a water elemental. She left a carefree life to live as human; mainly to avoid the joys of plumbing… and at this point I was entranced. The main character is brave, vulnerable and compassionate but rather at sea in the world of human emotions and motivations. She is a contradiction in so many ways and the story enfolds and exposes her to new feelings as she struggles to balance the various facets of her life and prevent a catastrophe that could eradicate the land she loves along with her friends and lovers. The author balances the action and pace of the story with the turmoil of feelings plaguing Cassie deftly. The relationships are pithy and often bittersweet. The ‘baddie’ of the plot is not of the standard evil genius or megalomaniac variety, however misguided he is; his aim is laudable. I loved the conflicts of interest this caused in the storyline! I look forward to the next adventures of this tough little sprite, an I am dying to know if she can untangle her love life! This book is tough, funny, poignant and exciting. Not the usual vampire werewolf fare at all, and I felt connected to the story, the outcome and the characters. My only complaint is that the next one is not available.
ChapterHeader (2)
 5.0 out of 5 stars well what a rollercoaster! 5 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
  This is a most excellent read. An exciting plot twisting and turning with great humour. Not of this world characters whose adventures and affections kept me reading avidly. It was escapism in a world we already know. Highly recommend
ChapterHeader (2)
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read 30 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
  This is a fabulous journey. Much like a taster menu, delicious and tantalising with increasing subtlety  and spice leaving me breathless to get to the next experience. As with all excellent ‘meals’ I am both satisfied and wanting more. I read this on Kindle but will now buy the actual book as I shall also do with ‘The Prince’s Man’. Then I can indulge whenever I want.
ChapterHeader (2)
 5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed,2 Feb 2014

Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desprite Measures (The Caledonian Sprite Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Didn’t think this would be my type of book, but fascinated by the plots Debby has dreamt up and the outcomes.
ChapterHeader (2)
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully unique urban fantasy,11 Mar 2014

 This review is from: Desprite Measures (The Caledonian Sprite Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Desprite Measures is a wonderfully unique urban fantasy. The combination of elementals, shifters (selkies) and casters made this an interesting and throughly enjoyable read. I thought Cassie was likeable and relatable, despite being a sprite, I only wish I had her flawless complexion! All things considered, Cassie is relatively normal with human friends and worries, albeit a little quirky, and I really liked that about her.

The physiology of the elementals was fascinating and very well thought out. I particularly liked Cassie’s habit of stealing DNA from her client’s towels, both practical and brilliant. This is my first urban fantasy that deals with elementals and I haven’t been disappointed.

I found this story to be well written and paced. It’s the kind of book you can enjoy in an afternoon, it just sucks you in.

ChapterHeader (2)
 5.0 out of 5 stars Another fascinating read from Deborah Jay, again I couldn’t …,5 Aug 2014

 Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desprite Measures (The Caledonian Sprite Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another fascinating read from Deborah Jay, again I couldn’t put the book down once I started. Looking forward to more of these fantasy novels which totally pull me into their world.
ChapterHeader (2)
4.0 out of 5 stars A spritely romp,15 Oct 2014

By Dr Liz (Brighton) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desprite Measures (The Caledonian Sprite Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great fun adventure set in modern Scotland where a sexy water sprite finds herself in danger of becoming a weapon of mass destruction in the hands of a mad, bad wizard. Much mayhem, weird magic and spirited sex ensues.
ChapterHeader (2)
If you’ve made it this far, I guess you like checking out reviews.
If you’d like to write a review of DESPRITE MEASURES, drop me an email (find my address on the About Me page) and I’ll happily send you a FREE digital copy to read and review – formats available are mobi (for kindle), epub and PDF.
Cheers!
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: