#BookReview – GATEWAY TO THE PAST (The Last Bucelarii #3) by Andy Peloquin #GrimDark #DarkFantasy

This book launched recently, as I announced on my blog here. I have now had a chance to read it, so here is my review…

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past. The Hunter of Voramis–a killer devoid of morals, or something

else altogether? (The Last Bucelarii–dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)

Book Blurb:

The Last Bucelarii (Book 3): Gateway to the Past

The Hunter, legendary assassin of Voramis, has a purpose: protect Hailen, the boy he rescued from a demon in Malandria.

He joins a caravan in the hope of safe passage across the Advanat Desert. Yet he cannot outrun his enemies: the Illusionist Cleric on a holy mission to capture him, the bloodthirsty raiders out for blood and gold, and the Abiarazi, demons who masquerade as humans.

Every step north reveals who he was before becoming the Hunter, unlocking the truth about the woman who haunts his memories.

Fans of Joe Abercrombie, Brandon Sanderson, and Brent Weeks will love the Hunter…

 

Gateway to the Past (The Last Bucelarii Book 3)Gateway to the Past by Andy Peloquin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Hunter is no longer alone. Now he travels with the boy, Hailen, a special child, touched by one of the gods, so his understanding of the world around him is different from others. He does not know fear, or understand that some people are not nice.
In Hailen’s company, the Hunter is not plagued by his internal demon. Keeping Hailen with him is both a selfish choice – to preserve his own sanity – and a selfless one, as he struggles to keep the boy from harm. Unfortunately, being what he is, trouble and danger are never far from the Hunter…
This latest book in the series continues to unravel the history of the Bucelarii, and of the Hunter personally, while embroiling him in another pacey adventure, laced with as much violence and death as we have come to expect from this series. The new depth to the Hunter’s character as hints of his past emerge is fascinating and brings a satisfying character development to one who originally seemed relatively shallow. There is far more of this to come, and I look forward to discovering the truth of his past life, and seeing where it will take him.
Despite enjoying the story, I do think this book could have been successfully trimmed quite a bit. The endless repetitions reminding us why he wants to keep Hailen with him became quite tedious, as did the frequent references to why he must keep on killing to survive. Also, certain words could really do with either reducing or replacing – ‘pounding’, ‘atop’ and ‘screeching’ are a just a few that leapt out.
Highly recommended for readers of Grimdark fantasy, or if you are happy to take a large dollop of violence with your fantasy. The story is engrossing, the world building excellent, and you can just about smell the heat of the desert while reading this engrossing book.

View all my reviews

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: