#BlogTour & #Giveaway – PRISONER by Dennis W Green – & #Review of Book 1, TRAVELER #SF #Thriller

 Prisoner_Banner

Welcome to my tour stop for Prisoner by Dennis W. Green! Prisoner is an adult science fiction and the tour runs  with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts.


Prisoner-Cover-HiResAbout Prisoner (Book Two):
Trav Becker is a police detective with multiple lives. Or to be more accurate, he’s a police detective who knows that multiple versions of himself live in countless different streams of existence.

When another Trav Becker appears bleeding and dying at his front door, Trav quickly realizes that something is dreadfully wrong in the multiverse.

Pursued by an FBI profiler who believes (with some justification) that Trav is hiding something, the detective races to save two kidnapped girls while also trying to sort out why he keeps turning up dead.

Desperate to preserve his home timeline, Trav is thrust into a hidden war that threatens to destroy the very fabric of reality itself.

Dennis Green returns to the universe he created in “Traveler” for another mind­bending thriller.

—————————————————–

Traveler_CoverAbout Traveler (Book One):
Blending mystery, police procedural and sci­fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.

Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find. Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.

My Review of Traveler

Traveler (The Traveler Chronicles #1)Traveler by Dennis W. Green
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The appropriately named ‘Trav’, is a traveler – that’s a traveler from one stream of reality to another. This isn’t time travel, it’s a book of alternate realities, where a single small decision makes a difference to that person’s reality. And this means we have a lot of Travs, and a lot of Sams, and, in fact, multiple versions of everyone who features in this story.
Confused? Well, try not to be. Green does a good job of keeping a handle on the numerous incarnations of each of his characters, and a book that could have been mightily confusing is no more than a bit perplexing in odd moments, and nothing that upsets the flow and urgency of the tale.
Trav is a cop, and I have to admit, the opening did not grab me; it’s pretty ‘bloke-ish’ in tone, and the opening scene is one I’ve read in many books: character wakes up with an awful hangover to survey the wreckage of his life. There was a small difference, with the addition of a little ‘Russian Roulette’, but it was still too clichéd to draw me in.
Then Trav gets sick, and finds the world around him is not quite how he recalls it (spoiler alert)—his deceased partner is very much alive, amongst other things. I was then somewhat thrown by the way Trav rapidly accepts this miracle and gets on with his daily life without questioning what’s going on. This is explained later, but at the time it bounced me out of the narrative.
Once the plot really kicks off, and a bit of explanation clears up the apparent aberrations, it turns into a great romp. Imagine chasing yourself, after you have apparently murdered yourself? Wacky or what?
Green’s writing creates scenes quickly and effectively, and the dialogue rings true. Between some chapters are little ‘Interludes’ that confuse at first, but then add interest to the concept once we understand what is going on. Overall, once I got past the opening scenes, I really enjoyed this book, and the outcome was more of a surprise than I expected, which was very satisfying.
I received a copy of this book to review for a blog tour; all thoughts are my own
View all my reviews

Amazon | Goodreads

 
—————————————-
 

DennisWGreenAbout the Author:
Dennis Green’s first novel, the sci­fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon. The second volume of The Traveler Chronicles, Prisoner, has just been released.

Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, due in 2017. A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film.

Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift, and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK­FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.

Author Web Site: http://denniswgreen.com/
GIVEAWAY:
$25 Amazon gift card (INT)
Ends November 18th
Prizing is provided by the author, hosts are not responsible. Must be 13 or older and have parental permission if under 17. Void where prohibited by law. No purchased necessary to win.
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.

 

Advertisements

3 comments

  1. […] Review – Deborah Jay – Mystery, magic and mayhem […]

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for hosting a tour stop and sharing your thoughts!

    1. Thanks for offering the book for review 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: