Blog Tour & #giveaway – TRAVELER by Dennis W. Green #adult #SF

Welcome to my tour stop for Traveler by Dennis W. Green! Traveler is an intriguing-sounding adult science fiction novel. The tour runs July 6 – July 17 with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts. Check out the tour page for the full schedule.

About the Book:

Blending mystery, police procedural and sci-fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.

Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find.

Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.

He must hunt the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.

Excerpt

I met her eyes for a minute, then looked away, uncomfortable for some reason with the depth of her gaze. At a loss for words, I finally fell back on crime scene convention.

“Ms. Foster.”

“Morgan.”

“Morgan. You’ve given Officer Vega a very complete statement. Thank you very much.”

“My pleasure,” she said with an open, innocent smile. Then, as my words seemed to sink in, she frowned.

“Oh! I’ve been rambling on and on while you have more important things to do and so many other people to talk to. That is JUST like me, talking nonstop when you have a CRIME to investigate! There are so many other people here who want to go home and forget about everything they’ve seen and here I am talking and talking to poor Officer Caleb here, who is being SO nice and taking down everything I say into his little notebook, while I prattle on…”

She stopped. Good thing, too. I hadn’t seen her take a breath during all this. Unless she’d mastered circular breath like a jazz saxophonist, she would be in danger of passing out.

But she just looked chagrined. “Oh, NO. There I go, doing it again. It’s what happens when I’m nervous or under stress, you know? I feel like I have to fill up all that empty space with something…”

She stopped again, holding up a hand while she closed her eyes and took a deep breath.

“Okay. I’m better now, I promise. I am SO sorry, Officer…”

“Uh, Becker. Detective Becker. Travis. Trav.”

She was still holding onto my hand, and pulled on it to draw me closer. She looked from side to side, then back at me.

“What does it feel like?”

“Pardon me?”

“Being… you know. I’ve always wondered.”

What the hell? “Ma’am, I’m sorry, I’m not sure what you mean.”

She put a hand to her mouth.

“You don’t know.”

“Don’t know what?”

She looked at me again for what seemed like a long time, then shook her head, rolling her eyes in self-mockery.

“Never mind. I know you guys aren’t interested in any of my mumbo jumbo.”

Now it was my turn to look at her, trying to ferret out what had just happened. But she turned two guileless eyes on me, and gave me a bright, innocent smile. Whatever it had been was now passed.

She gave me an impish smile. “Nice to meet you Detective Becker-Travis-Trav. I’ll see you again.”

She turned to leave. It didn’t seem like her cryptic comments had anything to do with the shooting, but I sure wanted to ask what the hell she was talking about. I started after her, but I was suddenly distracted by some movement out of the corner of my eye.

 

—————-

About the author:


Specialization is for insects.

Ask someone how they know Dennis Green and you might get any one of the following: Writer, DJ, actor, MC, swimmer, teacher, reporter, tech geek, husband, or dad. So it’s little wonder his favorite expression is the above quote by Robert Heinlein’s spacefaring immortal, Lazarus Long.A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film. He is one of the Midwest’s most popular MC’s, hosting dozens of events each year.

Dennis’s first novel, the sci-fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon.. Prisoner is the second volume of the Traveler Chronicles, and will be out in the summer of 2015. Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, which is due in 2016.

Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. He also writes for and edits the triathlon news site heartofamericatri.com.

By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK-FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.

————————————-
Giveaway:
$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
Ends 7/21
prizing is provided by the author, bloggers are not responsible

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.

 

Advertisements

6 comments

  1. Vania · · Reply

    thank you for the excerpt. I like travelling, and the title attracted me.
    Thankyou for the giveaway

    1. Thanks for dropping in to take a look 😀

    1. Thanks for the reblog 😀

  2. Ree Dee · · Reply

    The blurb sounds good. Thank you for the post and the giveaway!

    1. My pleasure, thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: