#Release, #Review & #Giveaway – THE SPIRIT HEIR by Kaitlyn Davis #fantasy #NA #YA #dragons

Spirit Heir Tour Banner

Title: The Spirit Heir (A Dance of Dragons #2)

Author: Kaitlyn Davis

 Description

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the second book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series–perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones!

Drenched in darkness and surrounded by the echo of screams, Jinji waits deep in the dungeons of Rayfort, haunted by the memory of the knife stabbing Rhen, plagued by a foreign voice whispering through her mind. A few floors above, Rhen rests trapped in a coma, about to wake to a changed world—a world where his best friend is a woman, his nephew is the king, and an enemy army surrounds him on all sides.

But human wars are insignificant compared to the darkness gathering unseen. Memories of lives she never lived flash through Jinji’s thoughts, hinting at a past that cannot be repeated. A mysterious phantom visits Rhen, carrying cryptic messages of the future. And somewhere out there, the shadow continues to lurk in silence.

Uncertain of their relationship and tempted by new feelings, Rhen and Jinji must find a way to work together. The fate of humanity rests on their shoulders and the real battle has only just begun…

My review

The Spirit Heir 2 low res

Where should I start? With the fully rounded out multi-dimensional characters? Or the ever-expanding yet utterly easy-to-follow layers upon layers of plot?

Unlike the prequel novella (The Golden Cage) and book 1 (The Shadow Soul), I didn’t have the luxury to read this in one sitting. But no matter – every time I picked it up, I was instantaneously sucked right back into the adventures, dilemmas, and emotions of this awesomely drawn tale.

The end of Book 1, ‘The Shadow Soul’, set up a totally new dynamic between the two viewpoint characters. Instead of believing Jin to be a boy, Rhen is now aware that she is a girl. Very aware. And this colours the whole of this segment of the story, as they grow from distrust to trust and beyond, despite all that transpires around them – war, the probability of the annihilation of Rhen’s family’s kingdom, and the encroaching presence of the spirit worlds heralding a future that appears destined for unavoidable ruin.

Personally, I can’t imagine this book being written any better. I’m guessing some readers might prefer a slightly more pared down version, but for me, it’s perfect. The rich descriptions, the utterly convincing dialogue, the plot twists and turns, yet always with that feeling of inevitability – this is story-telling at its absolute best. If you are looking for originality in a fully immersive experience, I can’t recommend this series highly enough.

 Purchase links:

AMAZON      B & N       APPLE     KOBO     SMASHWORDS

Author Bio

author photo

Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy.  Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own. To stay up-to-date with all of Kaitlyn’s new releases, sign up for her publication day newsletter here: TinyLetter.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

 

Author Links:

Website: KaitlynDavisBooks.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Twitter: @DavisKaitlyn

Tumblr: KaitlynDavisBooks.tumblr.com

Wattpad: Wattpad.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

Pinterest: Pinterest.com/kdavisbooks

Youtube: Youtube.com/user/KaitlynDavisBooks

Goodreads: Goodreads.com/author/show/5276341.Kaitlyn_Davis

Amazon: Amazon.com/Kaitlyn-Davis/e/B008R4OPM0/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Newsletter: TinyLetter.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

FREE

shadow soul fun 2 small

 

Book 1, THE SHADOW SOUL, is now FREE

Description:

GAME OF THRONES meets GRACELING in a new young adult fantasy by bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis. Told in alternating male and female perspectives, THE SHADOW SOUL has been hailed as “an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more.” (Happy Tails & Tales Reviews)

When Jinji’s home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to—until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn’t mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret—magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.

But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence—it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn…

Download/Purchase Links:

AMAZON      B & N      APPLE      KOBO     SMASHWORDS

And there is also the chance to WIN one of 2 SIGNED copies of the PAPERBACK of The Shadow Soul

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Go, enter, and buy! The prequel novella THE GOLDEN CAGE is also free, and my reviews of that and The Shadow Soul can be found here and here.

 

Advertisements

5 comments

  1. Thank you so much for joining my tour Deborah and for putting together such a fantastic review!! I am so excited that you loved The Spirit Heir and I hope your fans enjoyed learning a little more about my series! I’ll definitely be in touch when The Phoenix Born goes on sale 🙂 Happy Halloween!!

    1. Yay! I can’t wait 😀
      Hope the rest of the tour goes well, and I shall continue to sing the series’ praises – by far the best of it’s category that I’ve read in years.

    1. Cheers Judith, and thanks for the tweets too 🙂

      1. Always welcome Deborah – any time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: