Blog Tour, REVIEW & #Giveaway – THE GOLDEN CAGE #fantasy novella by Kaitlyn Davis

goldencage (1)

Tour Page & Schedule

The Golden Cage Cover
The Golden Cage (A Dance of Dragons #0.5) by Kaitlyn Davis

Description:

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones.


In the land of Ourthuro, cruelty is a way of life. The king rules with an iron fist and no one dare defy him–no one except his daughter. Princess Leena is keeping a dangerous secret, she has fallen in love with a soldier and it would mean both of their lives if her father ever discovered their affair.

But Leena will risk it all to be with the man she loves–her heart, her life, her freedom. And when her brother’s birthday celebration takes a dangerous turn, Leena is forced to make a decision that will change the fate of her nation and eventually the world.

The Golden Cage is a prequel novella to The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons #1)–available now!

Goodreads

Free Novella:

Amazon | B&N | Apple | Smashwords

Author Bio:

Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic author photofantasy. Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

Author Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Wattpad | Goodreads

 

MY REVIEW

The Golden Cage (A Dance of Dragons, #0.5)The Golden Cage by Kaitlyn Davis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m not a great reader of novellas, but I LOVED this one!
I was drawn right in from the opening lines, which lured me into thinking this was going to be a sweet story – a notion of which I was quickly disabused as the reality of Princess Leenaka’s gilded cage was thrust violently into the foreground.
One of a long line of royal daughters, she witnesses the first cruel step in the process of turning her innocent five-year-old brother into a vicious tyrant like their father. This is the catalyst for her plans to escape, for she has done the unthinkable and fallen in love with a common soldier.
The inevitability of the coming tragedy in no way detracts from the exquisite build up of tension, leading me to harbour a fervent hope that Leena and Mikza really might escape, whilst at the same time knowing full well that there can be only one outcome.
The writing is glorious, flowing seamlessly with only a couple of tiny glitches (homophones), and I was totally drawn into Leena’s character and her sheltered and smothered existence. There is love here, and horror and violence also, in the vein of Game of Thrones, and I was captivated from start to finish.
The end came far too soon, with a couple of unanswered questions (Leena’s magical gift, for one, seemed to have little bearing on this story but will obviously be important later), meaning I just had to go right on and read The Shadow Soul – to which this is a short prequel – immediately.
I am now waiting impatiently for the next book after that one.

View all my reviews

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advertisements

8 comments

  1. I’m so glad you loved this one too! Thanks so much for hosting a tour stop!

    1. I loved it so much I went straight on to read The Shadow Soul – review coming soon 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for joining my tour Deborah!! I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed The Golden Cage! Can’t wait to read your review of The Shadow Soul–hopefully you loved that one too!

    1. Thank you Kaitlyn for the opportunity to read it! And yes, I loved The Shadow Soul just as much. You have a new fan 🙂

  3. […] read and I reviewed a few months ago – here – after doing the same for the prequel novella, The Golden Cage. These are stunningly awesome original fantasies, and I was thrilled to be approached directly by […]

  4. […] novella THE GOLDEN CAGE is also free, and my reviews of that and The Shadow Soul can be found here and […]

  5. […] of her work. As she did in the first that I read, the novella ‘The Golden Cage’ (see my review here), she dragged me along almost against my will, in the full knowledge that all the disasters these […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: